The 5 stages of big data grief

See on Scoop.itData Nerd’s Corner

You may have heard of the Five Stages of Grief: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression, and Acceptance. In our work helping Fortune 500 companies with advanced analytics work, we are seeing this sam…

Carla Gentry CSPO‘s insight:

But then a funny thing happened: A backlash erupted. Negative press started to exceed positive press. Pundits questioned the value of big data. We had entered the stage Gartner likes to call “The Trough of Disillusionment.” Turns out, most people didn’t really understand what big data was, much less its value. Good business cases for big data projects were elusive, and in some enterprises, big data projects became something to be avoided.

See on

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: